Liszt Imagination - „Mephisto Walzer on String“

Transcriptions and Composition by André Parfenov for Violin and Piano

Aachener Walzer

Orchesterwerke von André Parfenov und P. I. Tschaikowski

The Piano Legend Of The Violin

Compositions for violin and piano by André Parfenov

The Parfenov Duo manages to revive the atmosphere of an era in which Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff and Gershwin themselves would walk on stage, take a seat at the grand piano and present the works they had just finished composing. The emotion and energy of the person who created the piece being performed is special and unique.

That is how you can experience André Parfenov, with equally impressive music, as a composer and soloist. His music is rich in imagery and descriptive, and by intermingling atonal elements with parts full of harmony and melodiousness, he always makes it seem new and fresh.



13.08.2023 | Schillingsfürst, Ludwig-Doerfler-Museum – Liszts Klavier und des Teufels Geige

Konzerttag auf Schloss Schillingsfürst – Auswahlkonzert 2

Krefeld Theatre

27.05.2023 | Krefeld Theatre – Seide – Band – Bandoneon


08.06.2022 | Oldenburg – Werkstatt Konzert mit Parfenov Duo

Schloss Homburg

21.05.2022 | Schloss Homburg – Parfenov Duo

Schloss Zweibrüggen

20.03.2022 | Schloss Zweibrüggen

Show all events


“Within the works interpreted by Münch and Parfenov, they undergo […] the same developments and dynamics, in wonderful harmony with one another.”

das Orchester March 2016

“In him, we have a highly virtuosic pianist with incredible presence on stage. There is something in his playing which enthralls people.”

Graham Jackson General Music Director at the Theater Krefeld Mönchengladbach

“… Parfenov is a composer who likes to wear many different masks, commenting on the action. He also likes to surprise his listeners.”

Rheinische Post October 24, 2016 on the premiere of Pinocchio

“… but Parfenov, who led his compact orchestra of Iuliana Münch (violin), winds and percussion of the Lower Rhenish Symphony Orchestra with bravura, used an appropriately broad musical vocabulary…”

Rheinische Post October 24, 2016 on the premiere of Pinocchio

“The pianist performed his own arrangement of the Finale of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1 in C-Major Op. 21. The fact that he is a brilliant pianist was abundantly clear, given the many technical challenges.”

Der Neue Tag August 22, 2016

“Juliana [sic] Münch’s playing enthralls; André Parfenov accompanies her with intensity, paying close attention to his partner.”

Der Neue Tag August 22, 2016

“André Parfenov is not only a great pianist, but also a wonderfully versatile composer. Surely we will hear of him more frequently in the near future.”

PIANO News Edition 5-2015

“Another composition uses elements from Prokofiev’s Cinderella. Parfenov and Münch, by the way, were granted exclusive performance rights by the Prokofiev family.”

Recklinghäuser Zeitung June 13, 2013

“The way in which the two musicians bring the contrasting effects to a point, intensifying the tension with subtle tempo changes and dynamic nuances in every measure, going straight for the punch-line and questioning structures, reveals anything but ‘conventionality’.”

Recklinghäuser Zeitung June 13, 2013

“Thus, the sound colors sparkle without glaring, and emotions flow freely.”

Recklinghäuser Zeitung June 13, 2013

“Parfenov’s preference for percussive effects, symphonic vehemence of sound and flashing sforzati is obvious. Iuliana Münch’s energetic violin playing forms an intense counterpart. Her tone seems powerful and well-grounded while displaying crystal-clear precision.”

Recklinghäuser Zeitung June 13, 2013

“… not only at an impressively high level, but also with a good measure of wit and humor and the successful attempt to destroy the atonal image which modern music has, scaring off many listeners.”

Aachener Zeitung March 22, 2013